Officially an Engineer

Today is a very special day, I graduated in Electrical and Computer Engineering (aka Telecommunications Engineering) from the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC). After five years of study and a year abroad I finally completed my studies.

I started in 2007 with a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering, specializing in Audiovisual Systems. I graduated after three years and my final thesis was titled NortheasternDevelopment of a Video on Demand Service for the iPhone. In 2010 I extended my studies with a 2.5 year program withi UPC. After finishing all courses in Spain, I had the opportunity to complete my studies with a year abroad. I was working as a research scholar in the Mathworks SMART Laboratory, in Northeastern University, Boston (USA). I developed KiFall, a Privacy Preserving Fall Detection Using Smartphones and Wireless Camera Sensors. The year in Boston was, personally and professionally, one of the best experiences of my life.

Today when I went to pay for the title, I realized this was the last time I will go to the Telecommunication Engineering School at UPC as a student. I have spent so much time in these buildings, I have attended hundreds of lectures, I have spent thousands of hours studying in the library (and a few hours in the bar), I have learnt so much and I have met a lot of nice people. I suffered and enjoyed the studies at the same time. But overall, my balance is very positive.

IMG_20131119_115233

What’s next? This is the big question I keep asking myself over and over again. I have just graduated and now I have many possibilities: looking for a job, creating my own company, continuing my studies, starting a career as a researcher, etc. And, what is also very important, where? After a year abroad and seeing how is the situation in Spain, we’ll see where I end up… The future is full of opportunities!

Leave a Reply

