Standard-developing organizations and forums for telecommunications

Nowadays telecommunications are very important in our society and they’re an essential element in our daily live. Because of that, it is necessary to establish organisms to contribute in the develop and standardization.


The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is an open international community of network designers, operators, vendors and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. The mission of the IETS is to make the Internet work better by producing high quality, relevant technical documents that influence the way people design, use and manage the Internet.

The IETF is divided in 7 organizations:

  • ISOC (Internet Society): is an international, non-profit, membership organization that fosters the expansion of the Internet.
  • IESG (Internet Engineering Steering Group): is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process.
  • IAB (Internet Architecture Board): provides architectural oversight
  • IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority): is the central coordinator for the assignment of unique parameter values for Internet protocols.
  • RFC Editor: edits, formats, and publishes Internet Drafs as RFCs, working in conjunction with the IESG.
  • IETF Secretariat turn is financially supported.
  • IETF Trust hold and license the intellectual property of the IETF.


The International Electrotechnical Commission is the wold’s leading organization for the preparation and publication of International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies (electrotechnology)


The International Organization for Standarization is the world’s largest developer and publisher of International Standards. It is a non-governmental organization with the contribution of 163 countries, one member per country, and has developed over 19.000 International Standars on a variety of subjects and more than 1.000 new ISO standards are published every year.


The International Telecommunication Union is the leading United Nations agency for Information and Communication Technology (ICT) issues. ITU coordinate the shared global use of the radio spectrum, promotes international cooperation, works to improve telecommunication infrastructure, establish worldwide standards and address the global challenges of our times. Moreover ITU organize worldwide and regional exhibitions and forums.

The hierarchy of ITU is divided in 5 sectors:

  • Office of the Secretary General
  • Radio communication (ITU-R)
  • Standardization (ITU-T)
  • Development (ITU-D)
  • ITU-Telecom


The European Telecommunications Standards Institute produces globally-applicable standards for Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), including fixed, mobile, radio, converged, broadcast and internet technologies. ETSI brings together more than 700 member organizations who operate in an increasingly international and competitive environment.

ETSI purpose is to produce and perform the maintenance of the technical standards and much of this work is carried out in committees and working groups composed of technical experts, which are referred to as “Techincal Bodies” (TB).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s